• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Need help to see if m715 is worth buying.

Kyle0137

My name is Kyle Patrie,
I'm a student at the Texas Maritime Academy in Galveston Texas.
I was currently looking at a m715 for $6000.
It has a 1970 Chevy 402 AKA Turbo Jet 400
400+ HP 6.3L Big Block engine, rebuilt transmission, and new tires.
In order to make it street legal, it needs the blinker box rewired or replaced, and wind shield wipers put on.
It currently has 5:8 gears in the axles so I was wondering if I could just replace them with a set of 4.65s to give it a higher top speed.
It has a few minor rust spots on it but nothing too bad.
I want to turn this into m everyday vehicle so I was wondering if this sounded like a good deal to you all or not.
I'm also open to any good part sites and tips on how to make this thing more reliable and fun.

Thanks a lot guys,
Kyle Patrie.
Here it is:

Jeep1.jpgJeep2.jpgJeep3.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome to the site.

Looks like a fun project. I owned a couple of the M715s.

You will not like the fuel mileage for a daily driver. The gearing limits the speed to a max of 50. Anything over 45 and the transfer case overheats.

Check out www.m715zone.com for more info on the axles, regearing them and what good replacements are.

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter