• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Halftrack identification needed

TACTICAL6

I have been eyballing this halftrack from a distance for several years now. Today I finally stopped and took a peek at it. I didn't know that a halftrack crane really existed. But the owner says it is original equipment and very rare. After doing a little searching on google and such, I am not able to find anything. So, it is either really rare, or just some cobbled up old halftrack. My first MV was a cobbled up halftrack. It had 2 feet added to the middle of the frame with and additional transfer case added in there. Anyway, He says it ran a few years ago with a rebuilt international motor, needs one track, and well you can see the general condition. Does anyone know what the model is? Any ideas on what it is worth?

Attachments

halftrack

That crane is not even close to being original to that halftrack. The halftrack could be any one of many variants, however, that crane looks to be from a 2 1/2 ton wrecker truck. Definetly was not part of the halftrack. The front winch on the halftrack is original though (at least most of it).

woodwalker

the army did mount a few crane after the 1/2 track was substitute standard.
1950s
as far as that one check the frame usually the mods will damage it.

is it a m3 long frame or m2 short frame?

really as it sits $2000 tops if you really want to go thr the work and expense.
just my .02

papabear

GA Mafia Imperial 1SG
I would say it is worth scrap value at most and I do not believe the "original crane" idea. Half tracks are semi rare if they are complete and in fairly good condition. You can find butchered ones fairly often.