• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

What to look for when purchasing a fully restored 1969 M35A2

KJ1969

I am new to the Duce world and looking to buy a 1969 fully restored M35A2. What things should I look for to avoid major $$$ mechanical problems later. Here are some of the items listed for the truck: Air Shift Transfer Case- New Military Surplus Air Assist Steering Kit- New 600 Watt Block Heater- New Goodyear MVT Radials on New Wheels- New Crate Hercules Motor, Transmission, Front & Rear Axles- New Arctic Heater Package- New Air Assist Power Steering- New Military Dome Light- New Bed Top- New Winch Cable and Cover- New Military Spec Batteries- Electric Wipers- Pyrometer gauge- All New Gauges- No Oil Leaks.
Thanks for everyone’s help in advance…:beer:

cattlerepairman

Steel Soldiers Supporter
The description reads like one for a very desirable truck. While it is promising and indicates that the truck has been gone over and repaired/upgraded very carefully, there are no guarantees, just probabilities.

It may be somewhat unrealistic to purchase a 40 year old truck, based on ancient technology, and expect that it will not need noticeable upkeep.

It certainly requires more attention (more grease zerks, plenty of fluids, shorter tire life span etc.) than a modern day pickup truck.

You may, however, end up purchasing a truck that is "stable'' - where all mechanical and electrical problems were fixed and it is, again, at the stage where regular maintenance is all that is required for happy motoring.

KJ1969

I know what you mean about old mechanical technology, it requires a little more attention sometimes… Are there any common problems with the compressed air system and or brake components on this year truck?

sandcobra164