• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

How to hook up dual batteries safely?

maddawg308

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Okay, if you're installing two 12-volt batteries in an MV for power, what order should you hook up the battery cables to do it safely, without risking a battery explosion?

Dumb question, but I am still learning...

OD_Coyote

Here is I do it on my M35 and my tugboat.....Use my advice at your own risk.

Ensure everything is turned off.

Negative terminal of jumper cable - Batt A
Positve terminal of jumper cable - Batt B
Positive terminal to truck - Batt A
Negative terminal of truck - Batt B

BTW - As part of my anti-theft device I always unhook the negative termianl to the truck and lock the battery box when I am not using my M35.

ida34

With the 12/24 volt system on the cucv, I would hook up the rear battery pos first followed by the rear negative the to the front positive with the front negative last. On the deuce do what ever order you want but make sure the last connection is the negative connection from the battery to the frame. The reason is that if you slip with the wrench you could touch any metal without a problem as long as the negative to ground cable is not attached. If it was then you would be arch welding.

acetomatoco