• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

a few turbo and exhaust questions

HETvet

when I return state side from this deployment, I plan to buy a new to me CUCV truck. preferably with the 14 bolt rear end, dana 60 front end, 4.56 gears and locking rear, and TH400 (my research has shown me that this equipment is available as a package).

im new to this forum, but have been trolling them for a while now. im also not new to diesels or turbo set ups. but I have very little experience with these motors, and even less in the pick up configuration.

with that being said, I do know I want to turbo the truck. what are my options for off the shelf, if you will, exhaust manifolds? is there a tubular design out there? what about flow and heat retention properties?

same thing for turbo up pipe(s)?

as for the turbo its self, FWIU, the factory 6.5 turbo is a GM-4? is there a turbo map/compressor map available for this? is there a VGT/VNT option? is it worth it to just go for a HX35 straight from the start? has any one ever exhaust wrapped/heat wrapped the hot pipes before?, turbo blanket/thermal blanket? what were the results in terms of spool up before and after?

from what I have seen, it looks as though the turbo blows straight in to the intake manifold hat, any one tried to intercool their set up? what about trying to smooth out the bend in to/at the intake hat? any other ideas on ways to make the intake track less restrictive, thus lowering boost?

for the rest of the exhaust, is 3-4 inches just right, or to big? straight pipe is a must for a quick spool up and responsive turbo. but how loud is it?