• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Looking at a 404

sluggish

So I found a 1962 404 pretty close to me, couple hours and am thinking of going to have a look. Looks good in pics and owner says it has no leaks, new fluids, tires, batteries, top, and a few other minor goodies. Now I am completely new to the unimog scene(currently have an H1), but have always been partial to the ugly looking things(I tend to like the oddball things, hence the reason I drove an AMC Pacer for so long). Trouble is, I have no idea what I am looking for when it comes to Mogs. Is there anything out of the ordinary or something I should specifically focus on. He says it is all original with the 6 cyl 2.2 gas and a 6 speed tranny. Is this a good combo? Do these trannies have synchros, or just straight cut gears. I don't plan to do any extreme wheeling and realistically, it will likely be more of a pavement pounder(for shame) but I was thinking it would be fun to drag the kids around, do parades and just generally drive it locally on a sunny day. I don't expect it to be like driving my Longhorn dually as far as comfort, but I don't want something completely horrible and unbearable to drive either. I realize it is not a great choice for a daily driver but could be a fun toy. I'm guessing it's likely good for about 45-50mph, now with that said, there are some hills in my area. Should I be thinking of power upgrades so I don't pi$$ off all the traffic behind me on those hills, or is there even a reasonable power upgrade option? Are fast axles, or an overdrive a choice for these vehicles, or should I wait for another model to come along that may be better suited to what I want it for.