• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

air lockers ?

dawico

Everything is good besides the price and you have to have an air supply. They are the best of both worlds of an open diff and a locker.

That being said, I have no experience with a CUCV kit but air lockers are great.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
As said, all good but the expense. I doubt that I would ever buy them. They are necessary for the low skill off roader who must have lockers. I'm a fan of th he Detroit NoSpin myself. If you understand it's functions and nuances, they do the job perfectly.

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Do you own an MV, if so which one(ones) are you considering installing a locker in?

I ask because you've recently asked about lockers in a deuce and now in the CUCV forum.

tim292stro

I like the idea of an OX locker, but not how they assembled it - I've seen a few which have broken. The part I [EDIT] like [/EDIT] is that you can actuate it from air, a cable, or just shoving a bolt in the side of the diff cover. It's almost as expensive as an ARB Air Locker. I also wish the E-lockers didn't have a habit of grenading...

Last edited:

61sleepercab

You have to be careful with a locker only on the rear axle only....... I had a Jeep pickup truck with limited slip rear end and in snow and mud the rear would lock and over power the front end traction and push the front end . You have to be quick on the clutch or neutral shifter or you will grip the steering wheel and nothing happens when you turn the wheel and go over a hill. I suggest lockers front and rear if you are going to do them.