• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Stalwart 6x6 questions

Heyitsmike

So I'm going to look at an old stalwart this weekend. before I go, I want to know what some of the problem areas are so I can go through the it and see what needs fixin.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1421888552.102079.jpg

m715mike

Gotta love a Stolly!

I owned one for a little over a year and love it! Here are a couple of links:

SS Thread:
http://www.steelsoldiers.com/showthread.php?117888-My-old-Stolly

SS Photo Album:
http://www.steelsoldiers.com/album.php?albumid=3223

Quick disclaimer:
I am not a mechanic! My Stolly was in really good condition, and I did not own it long enough (nor use it all that much) for something major to break. I was a bit paranoid about the cost of a major repair and the availability of parts.

Okay, with the disclaimer out of the way, there were a few quirks about my truck that I will never forget. It's been a while, but I remember reading on the internet that my truck's quirks were rather common (and since it was on the internet it must have been true)!

1) Warming-up: My Stolly took for ever to warm-up. I may be exaggerating, but it seems like 15 minutes at more than an idle (in a warm climate) might do the trick. There was a loud knocking while the truck warmed-up. It could have just been my engine knocking (again, I'm not a mechanic); however, I remember reading that was common for a Stolly. Also, it was easy to stall the engine before it had a chance to fully warm-up.

2) Backfiring: This is the closest I've ever come to owning a cannon! If my Stolly didn't cool-down after use, it would backfire. We are not talking a little "pop"... Think Howitzer!!! Don't worry, your neighbors (3 towns over) will love it!!