• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

A new section...HEMTTs

army_greywolf

I know not many have HEMTTs, but hey, I'm starting to see them pop up on GL. I have some good knowledge of the series of trucks since ive been on active duty. I'd be happy to share as much as I can with anyone who'd like to know more, or have performance questions, especially that old dog of a motor the 8V92.

JeepMan

Okay, first question or observation. Noticed on GL related postings here or postings about HMETTS that there is always alot of surplus, (new and used) cabs about for these trucks.
Why?

army_greywolf

A few months back a hemtt wrecker, the M984A1 came up on GL. I'm watching every day, even deployed ((i have the most understanding wife on the planet)) for another wrecker. I have business plans for extreme duty recovery when I return from Iraq.

But yes, any questions or concerns relating to 800 series 5 tons, hmmwvs, hemtts, hets, super hets, m915s, 900 series 5 tons, fmtvs, lmtvs, the first of which are starting to filter down. I'm what was originally a third shop mechanic s i have alot of experience in drivetrains, and have come up with a few tips and tricks.

73m819

Rock = older than dirt , GA. MAFIA , Dirty
Steel Soldiers Supporter
In Memorial
did the army have a problem with fuel getting in the oil with the 8v92, if so what was the cause and the fix, im thinking it was the fuel lines on top of the head to the injectors

M1075

Continuing with the logic in the current forum, I would suggest changing "5 ton and up" to just "5 ton" and then maybe add something like "10 ton and up" to include M123, M125, M911, M915-M920, LVS, HEMTT, PLS, etc. or maybe even "7 ton and up" to include the MVTR.

army_greywolf