• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Is this leak bad? What is it? How to fix it? Newbie

wsucougarx

Hello, I went and look at a bunch of trucks today. The best one as far as I could see was a particular truck. However, there appears to be a pretty good leak somewhere. I traced it to this part. Is this the steering box? Is it power steering? Is this an easy fix? Could the bolts be loose? How easy would it be to remove it, err or how hard? How easy would it be to replace? Sorry for all the questions. I'm new to M35's and will hopefully be a winner of one soon :lol:

Its definately not motor oil. It's very viscous...it is definately gear oil... Help

Attachments

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Not power steering unless it has air assist, a big air can on the tie rod. I think every deuce leaks at the steering box.. Check the LO for what goes in it.

DanMartin

Mine leaks in the same area...it's actually coming from either the injector pump or the compressor. On mine there is some leak on either the throttle or fuel shut-off levers (where they go into the IP assembly). Check for lose bolts.

Because it's in the blow-back area from the fan, it's hard to tell for sure.

I'm at wits end on finding my leak...I'm about to steam clean the engine and use dye in the oil and a black light to track it down.

m16ty

Steel Soldiers Supporter
wsucougarx said:
Does anyone know what this is? Is it just a gear box? What's LO?
Yes, it has a worm gear in it with the steering wheel attached to on end and the steering arm comming out the side through the frame.

LO means "Lube order". LO 9-2320-209-12-1

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter