• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Battery overcharge ?

Here's my question. a 12v battery..... on a constant 2-3amp 10watt charge..... will that over charge the battery if left on for an undefined period of time? I would think that the low amperage would be able to match the amount that the battery discharges while sitting. most trickle chargers for RV's seem to run about that rate. Any opinions from those that know better would be appreciated. I'm a wrench turner by trade, I'm barely able to splice wires let alone figure out complex electrical equations.

in case anyone's curious why I ask. I have an old solar panel that I'd like to hook up to charge batteries, it has a diode to prevent discharging the battery and of course would only be charging during the day but it would be left connected all the time with no fancy charging control etc.
Thanks

Bill W

I'm confused ( but thats another story) if you have a 12v, 10watt charger then it should only be putting out .83amps ( watts divide by volts = amps )., how did you come up with 2-3amps

I put a multi-meter on it and it's just a solar panel, not technically a charger. according to the label it's rated for 12-17vdc and 10watts. I'll do some more digging when I get back home monday.

Jake0147

It's a dumb device. It just pumps out electrons. The more the draw from the load, the more it drags the voltage down. The less the draw, the more the voltage raises.