• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

1952 Studebaker M35?

cbvet

Found an ad for a "1952 Studebaker M35 cargo truck".
I'm still new at this, but the only info I've come across for 1952 6x6 trucks are references to the M135 & M211.
Any ideas as to what this is? I'd like to know more about it before I go look at it.
Thanks,
Eric Wendt

Longhunter7

Studebaker US6

Eric,

The Studebaker US6 was the 2 1/2 ton truck that was made in Indiana during WWII.

There is a great article in the August issue of Military Vehicles magazine.

Someone either has the wrong date or the wrong truck! :?:

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Attached find a pic of my (formerly) 1952 Studebaker M275. Yeah, I like tractors. M35s were in production in 1952 and Studebaker was making a bunch of them. It's highly possible that it's exactly what's advertised. There's quite a following of Stude collectors that buy these just because they're Studes.

Attachments

lacoda56

As I understand it, Studebaker built the same trucks as Reo in the early 50's. Of course, they were all gas engine models. Around '56, Curtis Wright bought Studebaker and for a short time, continued to build the M45 & M46 under the Utica Bend name.

cbvet

Yes, it's a Studebaker!

Looked it over & drove it around some.
It is a Stude-built M35 type with gas engine. Front winch.
Body is really in great shape. Runs good. Good tires. Cab heater. Good glass. Gas engine sure is quiet compared to my Multifuel!
Says he paid $7,000 a few years ago. He's asking $5,000 but would probably take less.
Has rear main seal leak.Clutch slips pretty badly once warmed up. Needs a better paint job.