• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

"Starts and Runs"?

uoa

I'm looking at a *Deuce* whose description says "starts and runs." I'm guessing this is a good candidate for a drive off but what would be a limiting factor for me to drive it off?

I also have an F-450 that I will be taking if/when I pick it up, what is the consensus on towing with this truck if I had too?

As you can tell from my post count, I'm new at this but I have lurked here for a while and am mechanically inclined. Driving the thing will not be a problem for me, I just need to know the brakes will work and the motor wont die.

Last edited:

dependable

It is a toss up if the truck can be driven home.. If it was me, I'd find a trailer I could use and tow it back with the F 450. I would not try to flat tow, as that makes for gray hair..

FMJ

In Memorial
In Memorial
Well, I'm sure many will chime in here soon.....do you have a pic of the potential tow vehicle? If I was going to do it, I'd use a gooseneck or a 5th wheel trailer....

Or, dare I say it, alot of weight in the back of the truck to flat tow it...

I saw some guys doing just this (flat tow) awhile back on Hwy 25 here in NM....

randyscycle

"Starts and runs" leaves a lot of open area. It may have no clutch, no driveshafts, no gears in the diffs, no fluids in it, wrong fluids in it, missing parts, etc. Or it may be just fine.

I'd go have a look prior to pickup just to save some grief. On the other hand, you may just get lucky and top the fluids off, jump it and drive it right home. Its always a crapshoot with GL stuff. Heck, you may find a diferent truck than the one in the picture when you get there.......

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome to the madness UOA.