• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Generator safety

AN/ARC186

I've seen quite a bit of traffic on this so as an electrical inspector I have to weigh in,

When connecting a generator as a means of backup power make sure to follow the National Electric Code and all applicable local codes !!!!
If you don't have a transfer switch(manual of automatic)do not hook up to the main service panel in your house. DO NOT BACK FEED THE PANEL. This is illegal and very dangerous. I know some back feed through a dryer or range plug. this is a very hazardous practice.You run the risk of back feeding the grid and killing a linesman.Code requires a mechanical interlock between the main(power co.) and generator inputs to a panel, switching off the main alone doesn't cover it.
Ground(bond) the generator to the service panel ground(bonding) system and use the right size extension cords for the loads you are going to be powering.

If you are not sure how to properly connect a generator, get a licensed electrician to do it, in some areas this is required.

Lieutenant
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Great point! I agree! I have personally witnessed a few residential fires because of improper generator connections. Have a licensed electrician do the work and where applicable, with a permit.
Insurance companies (no offense intended) have very deep pockets and they will go after anyone and everyone to get their money back.

papercu

BTY Just to be clear, the local power company rules are the ones you have to follow. In many cases they are the same as NEC but not always. Wayne

AN/ARC186

BTY Just to be clear, the local power company rules are the ones you have to follow. In many cases they are the same as NEC but not always. Wayne