• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Just another new guy. I'm in Southern IL, near St. Louis.

beck

Hi everyone! I've been lurking here for about a week now, but had not posted before. This looks like a great forum.

I'm new to the military stuff. I didn't serve my country when I was of that age. I graduated from high school in '73 and went to college for 2 yr after that. At that time no one was being drafted. The military was cutting back. I didn't inlist on my own. That means I don't have first hand information about the vehicles that are dear to you.

I had always liked the M37. I did some flea-bay shopping for one a few years ago. Then I found the chopped Deuces and fell in love. I just couldn't justify owning one to myself. Here I am down the road a few years and still love the way they look.

I came to this site looking for information on the Reo 331 gasser motor. I'm researching the motor for possible use in a land speed race car. It's called an "inliner" class. The motor has to have been designed before 1959. It has a 325 cu in limit. I figured the 331 could be destroked a little to make it legal. Currently the motor of choice in that class is a bored 302 GMC. I don't know if anyone has ever attempted to seriously hot rod a 331 Reo. The HP is in the heads. If it can flow as well as the GMC it should work.

After I got here I started looking at the Deuce hot rod trucks. I started thinking (thats dangerous for me). If I built a chopped Deuce I could play all the time. With a land speed car it is a once a year thing.