• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

136-27 transfer case

coolrides

Hi, I'm new to working on military transfer cases and need your help.
I have a used T136-27 air shift transfer case.
the pinion nut and washer are missing from the input shaft.
when spinning the input shaft it walks front to back and makes noise.
I will be starting a tear down tomorrow to see if I have bearing damage or gear damage. my first question, does the pinion nut preload the bearings on the input and control the walking motion I am seeing? (kind of like the pinion in a automotive differential) or am I going to be surprised tomorrow and find a junk gear.
If somebody can point me in the right direction to purchase a maintenance or overhaul manual for this transfer case I would appreciate it.
Thanks

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
The manual is TM9 2520-246-34 or TM9 8623. The nut on the shaft holds the bearings tight on the shaft. If it is missing, the shaft will do like you said. If this transfer looks to be messed up, you are better off buying a known good one from a SS member parting out a truck. By the time you buy a bunch a bearings and gears, you will equal the price of a good unit. I just got finished with a Timken T-77, it took weeks of part-time fiddling to get it rebuilt.

Reactions: HN6

coolrides

Thanks, I'll look for the manuals I understand what you said about the cost if the transfer case needs a lot of work. the front bearing is $160.00
I'm hoping the inside look decent (of course that would not be my luck ha ha).
If I need to replace the front bearing along with the missing nut and washer and related gaskets I'm already looking at $200.00

gringeltaube

Staff Member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter