• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Running Moonshine???

Bigred77

Ok so im new to the whole multi-fuel thing, but I am a diesel mechanic by trade and have been for some time. I bought my very first deuce recently and im enthused. Ive been running some WMO (not very much though) and am really excited about the idea of running other fuels. I also know quite a bit about making moonshine (cough cough), and after you make said moonshine if you dilute it with kerosene it is considered ethanol and is completely legal as long as you have the proper permits (very easy to get here in KY). has anyone tried running it in a multi yet?

Last edited:

scooter01922

I bet it would run fine BUT that would be very dry fuel and as a result hard on the IP in particular. Add the right stuff to keep things lubed and why not.

Bigred77

what about a WMO, Waste atf, diesel, kerosene or gasoline mix? not so much gasoline of course, less dry more lube. Always need more lube lol

Last edited:

scooter01922

Well lets put it this way, the general consensus that i have got is that for prolonged operation it isn't good to run more than 50% gasoline. I would think that moonshine is a good deal dryer than gas so you would prob need to use it more as an additive rather than fuel :-( Hmmm, there has to be some way to bring up the lube and not take up too much of a percentage. Sure others will chime in on this one.

cranetruck

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Ethanol as a fuel (gasoline engines, not diesel) must be 99.9% pure, no water content.
Moonshine is probably at best 70 or 80 % pure and must be distilled many times to make it fuel grade.

In any case, diesels, including multifuel engines don't like alcohol.