• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Question about a possible Alternative fuel.

EulaVFD#620

Ok I am an aircraft mechanic, I have access to alot of used Mil-H-5606 hydraulic fluid, provided I filter the heck out of it, is it possible to use this as a fuel for a Deuce? If not, why? I am just currious, and wish to know more about these engines and what they will run on.

620 Out

colomil

I worked with 5606 and 83282 when I was in the USAF and I believe some of these fluids had fire-suppresant additives. Look up the MSDS on the 5606 to be certain.

jimm1009

fuels

I'm and A&P / IA not that that has anything to do with your question.
I have burned waste 5606 too but I always mix it with deisel or waste Jet A.
I beleive that it does have some flame retardents added but that I will also have too look up. Perhaps AC43.13-1B has that now. Anything will burn with enough heat but I use a lot of waste turbine oil, waste engine oil (recip), and waste jet A. I always filter it through a 10 micron / water filter and then I have been experimenting with some filter socks that I purchased from McMaster Carr. The reason for this is because of the bugs in the waste fuel and also because of the used oils and fluids going into the tank.
I figure that if it makes it past a 1 micron filter, it won't hurt the injectors or pump. I've also change all my truck fluids and diluted it and burned it as fuel too. I figure that DOT would jack up the jail and bury me underneath if they knew about all the non-taxed "fuel" going on thier road but......