• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Found this little gem today

DuecesWild

Saw this wrecker behind a building up in Grantsville, MD today. Im a newbie so I hope any of you fellow soldiers can identify this for me. I know its WW2 and that its a Dodge (I think). I didnt get to look at it long I had to go but it looked in decent shape. Whether they want to sell it or not i dont know. I hope the pics work.

Attachments

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Yup, Chevy. Should have the "stovebolt" 235 engine and a 4 speed trans. All the stuff on the back of the frame, except for the winch, is scrap. The winch there is worth what maybe $500 if you paint it and sell it to the truck/ heavy equipment marketplace. Look really close at the cab, rust along the beltline seam and on the floor, the cabs can get really unfixable. Tires are pricy ($175), and you'll need 7. Beds are hard to come by and generally turn up in Oregon/Idaho. The bed looks like a short narrow deuce bed.
If you are looking for a ground up restoration project, here you go. Value as is, around $900.

roscoe

Whienever I see an old truck or car parked in a field, I wonder what was the last day of this vehicle. Who was using it, what was it being used for and what happened that it ended up rusting in a field.

gerrykan

It was common practice in this part of the country to use old truck frames for the boom/gin poles. Most of the time some of the crossmembers are removed or shortened so that the boom gets narrower near the top.

wdbtchr

I've seen log loaders made with frames on old cckws too. Wish I had a camera back then, they were actually pretty cool. It was amazing the loads they could carry. Sadly most went to scrap years ago.

cckw353