• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New Here Looking to Learn About Urals

wa19

Hello - New to the Forum.
Have been in and around Mil vehicles all of my life and am a veteran.
I really enjoy reading your threads.

I'm considering buying a Ural. Can anyone offer advice as to the downside of owning a Russian vehicle in the USA. I get that they are slow. I talked to one fellow in the UK who said when things break he's been finding more common replacements for them. I'd like to hear your thoughts, good and bad. I'm a helicopter pilot and at one time tried to import and use commercially some of their helicopters because they are built to take a pounding. So I have some understanding of the manufacturing ideals. Thanks in advance for your help.

Cheers,
Will

duncan

Well if theyre anything like the other sovjet vehicles Ive read about (no reason to suspect theyre not), then all replacement parts will be bog-standard. Anything thats model or type specific will be made at least two times as strong as required, so it wont need replacing any time soon. I'm by no means an expert though! What are you looking at?

marchplumber

Steel Soldiers Supporter
No useful information from me, sorry.:roll: Yet, welcome to the site!! Good luck with the Russian truck. I have looked at quite a few of their videos on utube and they appear to be pretty capable. Keep us informed, ok?
God bless,
Tony:-D

GoHot229