• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Shoulda been CUCV's

StormChaser

While I was on Ebay the other day, I came across an auction where a guy did up a Suburban. He did a pretty good job representing what it might have been had there actually been CUCV Suburbans (well, minus the roof cargo rack anyway). Now, I was a mechanic in the USMC during the Desert Storm era, so I have a good grasp on how the CUCV's were used. In our unit (3d Bn 6th Marines), it would seem to me the Suburban would have made more sense than the Blazers. And since my maintenance truck was a CUCV, I can honestly say a crew cab would have been a better option.

I was wondering what your thoughts would be on this. Do you think they could have been viable CUCV's?

Also, what is the site consensus on, would you say, CUCV clones? I'd love to do up my crew in the style of a CUCV, but only if doing such a thing is acceptable. I know people think "it's yours, do what you want." But true military vehicles hold a special place in my heart. They are the mechanical heroes, and I hold them in high regard as a piece of history worth saving and sharing with others. I know my feelings on "fake Veterans," but I wonder if the same should hold true when it comes to vehicles. Is it OK to have a CUCV clone if it isn't sold as a CUCV, and if it is in a format that never came as a CUCV?

One more- has anyone already done a crew CUCV, and if so, any pics? I haven't been able to find any on Google.

91W350

I say go for it! I remember seeing some photos of a proto-type Suburban. I should have keep the magazine. It looked killer! I suppose even if I had kept it, it would be a violation of their copyrights to use their photos.

HAWKMAN