• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Blown Engine M35a2c

regicidal919

This is my first post so exxcuse me if I get a little off track.

I took my new 1970 M35a2c out for her first camping trip (only 45 miles away) and the next day on my return trip I made it 5 miles when the engine blew. There was a knocking sound right before she let go and shot the #2 piston, rod and misc. parts out the drivers side of the engine block.

I had checked the oil before the return trip and was big on the whole PMCS routine. When I bought the truck it was tagged with rebuild in '92'. She had always ran well and had good oil pressure and never ran hot. I am no mechanic but I am guessing there was some sort of catostrophic internal failure with the #2 cylinder. Has anyone had or heard of this before. This truck was by no means abused or over worked as I always kept a close eye on the gauges and RPMs.

Found a running replacement engine now just waiting to put her back together.

Any thoughts would be welcome.

Thanks

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome to the site. Sorry about your bad experience. That is truly a rarity without overreving the engine. Was the big end of the rod still attached to the crank? With that level of destruction it might be a challenge to CSI what went wrong.

regicidal919

The most recognizable piece that was shot out the block was a portion of the piston. I would descibe that piece as the size of a snuff can and where the wrist pin passes through?

littlebob

The rebuild date with really low hours is probably worse than a one with regular usage as, the engine may have sit idle for a long time. Although the diesel does better, it still will have a problem with sitting for a long time and driven like new.

stampy