• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

how to stencil markings

dougimes

My humble opinion on markings...

I have a lot of experience with using stencils to make markings. I have tried over the years varous methods including:

Water masking
taping
die-cut masks

I have a favorite way that is quick and easy and gives decent results.

Steps

1. buy stencils from the hobby store
2. layout stencils to the marking you need and tape them together
3. lay them on postal wrapping paper and trace numbers with a pensil
4. cut out the letters with an exacto knife
5. spray back of postal mask with artist spray adhesive. not spray adhesive, artist spray adhesive. it tacks but is removable, and doesn't leave a residue.
6. stick it on the vehicle and spray with flat paint. Flat paint is important, satin can work. Flat paint dries quick and tends not to bleed. If you need gloss, shoot flat and then shoot clear gloss over the top later on.
7. remove the masks after the paint is dry. If there is over spray, wipe it off with fine steel wool within the hour before it starts to harden.

The above gives authentic looking results- very good but not perfect. if you are a perfectist, might want to figure something else out.

For stars, use masking tape, dont stencil.

Attachments

Westex

I wish I'd read this post 3 hours ago. I just stenciled my re-done fuel tank and the spray between the D I E S E L O N L Y looks like poop.

HardCorps79

In Iraq we ran out of paper rolls (no kidding!) and so we used manila envelopes and file folders. Then we ran out of those. For flat areas we ended up just having to tape the metal stencils on and then put them in the solvent tank (plenty of that stuff) when we were done. Thanks for the post!

goldneagle