• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Mico Brake Lever lock, Where to mount it ?

Hello Members of steelsoldiers.com

I’ve been collecting Military Vehicles for many years. This seems like a real interesting board to learn and share them.

I picked up this Lever lock as I converted one of my CUCV's to Disc brakes in the rear and wanted to have something to act as a parking brake beyond putting the transmission in park.

I also plan to run a TC brake or a pinion brake but have yet to find one that I like.

How about some thoughts on where to mount this Lever Lock and or a prop valve ?

I always thought the dash was too flimsy a place to mount it. but then anywhere else would mean alot of extra brake line.

Just for S & G here is the Disc Brake conversion.

Here is my 14 bolt disc brake conversion.
I used all 1 ton parts mainly just to see if I could do it....I also was not pleased that the 3/4 ton kit had problems with both the studs and the fact that the rotor did not have any place to sit on the hub.
I solved these problems using 1 ton dually rotors and a machined ring that fits between the rotor and hub. and as you can see I made a spacer to take up the gap between the axle housing and the caliper bracket.
also here is a list of GM parts I used for anyone that wants to know what they are.
3977397 HUBS Rear Wheel
9428908 GM INNER BEARING & RACE
15702309 HUB SNAP RING
7451928 GM OUTER BEARING & RACE
ROTORS 1985 Chevy front dually
CONCENTRIC RINGS MACHINE SHOP
3988538 GM WHEEL STUDS 16
469694 SEAL
15665667 CALIPER
15665668 CALIPER
BENDIX PADS
Caliper bracket 1985 Chevy Dana 60 right and left sides
12338037 CALIPER LOCK BOLT
14023437 SPRING
14023439 KEY 2
462813 SHIELD
462814 SHIELD
341509 Spindle nut
12471641 Axle gasket