• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Need Help in NH with my m38

BillF

Is there anyone in or around Southern NH that is good with the L-134 engine? I am having problems getting mine to run right since going into storage for the winter. I just need an extra set of eyes and ears to figure out the problem.

Boatcarpenter

Bill,
I'm no expert on the engines, and you don't say what is happening, but the first thing that would occur to me is a fuel problem. If you left your tank full of fuel that has ethanol in it, you may be experiencing fuel separation symptoms and possible water problems. I might try purging the carb of old fuel and hook up a can of fresh fuel somewhere close to the engine and see if she runs better.
After that I suppose I would just try the usual things with a point, condenser and coil ignition system.
Just my 2cents.
Good luck,
BC

Carl_in_NH

I concur with BC - Ethanol fuel has been causing problems when stored; a local equipment and small engine repair place has been getting generators that don't run right and is having to do nothing more than to drain and refill the fuel system to get them running properly again.

Failing that, I'm happy to help if I can. I'm no L-134 expert - but don't mind trying to help you debug. We've also got a club 'shop day' coming up in a week - and engine diagnostics and testing is one of the subjects. You could drive it down this way if it's running well enough to do so and a bunch of folks would be available to assist. PM me about this if you wish.

Last edited:

vtdeucedriver