• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Funding option? - Advice needed!!!

pawnee1959

I am new to Steel Soldiers and seek the knowledge & advice of more experienced military vehicle collectors. ALL COMMENTS WELCOMED, positive or negative.
My ambition is larger than my bank account, but I have a plan. I am organizing a military collector's club in my area with the main (long range) goal of establishing a permanent military museum. Our first goals will be to increase membership & get organized as a not-for-profit 501.c3 corporation. There is a lot of real estate with nice, big buildings that are sitting empty in our area which have great potential for the start of a museum. We just recently learned that one of our major employers is going to shut down and eliminate almost 200 really good American jobs (production will be sent to Mexico.) Their property will probably be up for sale after they move everything South, perhaps they'd like to make a good will gesture towards the community and donate the property (would save them a ton of property taxes & utility bills) for use as a museum?
If anybody has ever tried to organize a club, start a museum, do the paperwork on a 501.c3 corporation or seek major donations, I would really appreciate your comments. Maybe I'll never own any of the military vehicles I desire, but would it be so bad to help restore stuff that would be on display close to home? Maybe get to drive MVs in parades, maybe be a museum director someday with a budget & authority to purchase MVs for the museum? A journey of a 1,000 miles starts with a single step!
My MVPA membership number is 33636

Last edited:

paulfarber