• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

GM 2.5 ton axles

Josh902

Hey ive came accrost this site and have a question about axles i found these

what i think they are is GM 2.5 ton and im wondering what the strenght of them are? and if its worth it to put them under my mud truck? which is a 76 chev five 1/4 ton i know they are reverse rotation in the front and its workable with a normal transfer case but any info would be great on them generaly

thanks

Oldfart

The picture looks like a front axle under a GMC M211 series 2.5 ton truck. The differential ratio is 6.17 to 1. I am fairly new to these trucks as I just got mine in July. However, I think they would be tough enough for a rock crawler or mud bog rig (I assume you are starting with a 5/4 ton Chevy). That being said, they have two brake wheel cylinders in each drum. This "might" require more master cylinder stroke than the truck you want to modify has. I would assume you will be lifting your truck to accommodate the larger axles and tires which will cause the need to drop the transfer case or rotate the new axles so as to avoid u-joint bind or poor shaft angles that might fail under heavy power application. It is only my opinion, but the newer axles used on the M35 series deuces would probably work better. They are top loaded so the drive shafts can align better with the transfer case in a lifted application possibly avoiding axle rotation and/or dropping the transfer case. Single wheel cylinders are also cheaper to deal with and the axle parts (lockers etc.) are more current and available.

Josh902