• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

American armor on the streets of Egypt

Status
Not open for further replies.

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
I don't want this to degenerate into a political brew ha ha but I am a writer and this is how I express myself when I see something fundamentally wrong with what is happening to our country.

I have been following the events in Egypt, not because I give a rats behind about the country, but because it is plastered on every network.

So far I have seen M113's, M60 and M1 tanks and other assorted US vehicles on the steets. (MV tie in). At this time they don't seem to be firing on the protestors.....mostly watching and trying to keep looting from spreading.

We have equipped an unstable Muslim country with some of the most advanced weapons in the world and they could end up in the hands of radical fundalmentalists to be used against us or other allies in the area (assuming we have any).

I did some research and it seems that aid to Egypt is one of the bigger ratholes that we throw money down to the tune of billions of dollars over a long period of time (that means Dem and Rep administrations).

Our leadership, and I use that term in the broadest sense, for the last 50 years seems to have a track record of backing the wrong people for the wrong reasons.

Now you see where the huge deficit came from and will continue to come from if we the people do not demand a stop to it.

Check out: Most US aid to Egypt goes to military - Telegraph

markmontana

Well said, you should try writing for a living...

I think we have treated Egypt like a crazy step-son that we know is about to 'blow' at any time, but if we give him money and toys (MV tie in) he keeps to himself and doesn't cause much trouble.