• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

welder purchase questions

BFR

Rocket Surgeon
I am about to buy a welder and need some advice.
For all intents and purposes I am a beginner at welding and I would like to buy a quality machine that is...
user friendly
easy to find parts and consumables for
and big enough for me to "grow into"

So far I have narrowed the field down to the following machines
Hobart Handler 187 ($600)
Lincoln 180 ($715)
Millermatic 180 ($825)
Millermatic 211 (1011)

What I think I know...
the lincoln is rated for 3/16" in a single pass where all the others are rated for 5/16".
The hobart and miiler machines are made by the same company ie a hobart is a bare bones miller.
Both of the millers have "autoset"

Having said all that, here are my questions....
1. Is the hobart 187 just a miller 180 minus autoset?
2. If so is autoset worth $200 extra
3. If the autoset is worth it, is it worth $200 extra to jump from the mm180 to mm211? (BTW the best price I could find on a hobart 210 was essentially the same as a MM211)

Last edited:

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Dont forget to check the duty cycle of each. The welder that works best for me is Devilman96.

Stalwart

Go with the autoset, I've been welding for over 30 years, 20+ on mig and I find I cannot set the welder manually better than the autoset can. On the Miller anyway, the welder's fan only comes on when needed and makes for a quiet work area.

BTW, I got mine new on ePay with free shipping and it was the best price I could find. It was sold by a big outfit in the midwest.

mdmorgan

AM3 U.S. Navy