• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Welding on a vehicle

namedpipes

I need to repair the driver side rocker on my M101 tow vehicle, a '91 Dodge 3/4 Ton, 5.9L, 4x4, HD susp., regular cab, long bed.

I know I need to disconnect the batt before mig welding. Will I explode if I don't drop the gas tank, too? I'm hoping to make this a morning repair, not an all weekend repair.

Last edited:

Moto4Life

I'm no expert, but I've never dropped the tank on my vehicle while welding. Granted I've never welded that close to the gas tank. Sounds like a welding blanket could come in handy for some peace of mind. [thumbzup]

namedpipes

How about batts of unfaced fiberglass insulation?

eta - As M4L says and I should have mentioned, the gas tank if just aft of the place I'm welding. I wouldn't have bothered asking if I was further away!

Last edited:

ryan77

Just use common sense ive never dropped the tank or disconected the batts!! And i cut out and replaced half of my blazer i dont use bondo for holes either i weld them closed!!!

m16ty

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I've welded on a bunch of vehicles within fairly close proximity to the fuel tank.

With that being said, every situation is different and I'd never recommend that somebody do it in a public forum.

sf38a1

I always disconect the battery, neg terminal, not because the battery will blow up , but to keep from screwing up the alternator . Never weld on shocks , or inflated tires on rims, they will explode . I stay away from gas tanks while welding,

Ridgerunner

I've never disconected the battery on a car, whenever I've welded on them. It shur wouldn't hurt though, I guess. As for the gas tank, if there isn't any leaks, and the tank is sound, you will not have any problems.