• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

cckw repaint and stuff

bradcckw

Ive begun the test of my life ! Starting a project that will hopfully be road worthy by next summer. It is a 1944 GMC CCKW 353 A1 2 1/2 TON TRUCK (G-five O eight)
im not the museum restor guy so please be forgiving in my methods. i work construction for a living and have three children all under the age of 5 so my time and $$$ is limited to the weekends. but ive waited 3 1/2 years to start this project and have gathered all parts and intell to start. shes getting a tear down and a cab off a doner truck to start along with some other odds and ends.

I have demounted all drums last winter And RE-Packed all bearings and resealed with new felts front and rear along with rear axle shaft seals.
then i replaced all wheel cylinders with new SS sleaved ones and new shoes and springs front and back along with hoses and new steel lines plumbed front to back.

I also purchased a new series III Hydrovac and master cylinder
Also all new tires,tubes and flaps 7.50x20 NDT.

The engine is a 270 gasser with a 5speed warner and H/L transfer case. upon inspection inside and out and also by the way she ran sooooo good Ive determined that there is maybe a few hundered miles on the engine. when the valve cover and pan are off it seem to have just come out of the machine shop cleanest internals ive ever seen. so im not rebuilding it I have another for that when the time comes. I just put new gaskets on in except the head.

I have checked and resealed the transfercase and gearbox, also replaced all pinion seals.

But i have alot of work before shes done will keep things updated as i finish steps.

Brad

Attachments

Last edited:

bradcckw