• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Starting a 5 Ton M813 GT

Timm813

Hi guys...As you can see I'm a newbie here. I got my M813 about a year and a half ago and am thinking about turning it into a deep water fordable GT. Are there any books or websites that would give me some facts about doing that? Also any lists of the names of GTs as I'm going to build a tribute truck and don't want to step an any toes. Is there anywhere that I can get the extended air intake, rear axle lockers, and the rest of the gear to make it like the ones the marines used? Also was there ever a deep water fordable gun truck?

Timm813

To be honest I wasn't sure what war this would have been used in. Was looking to make it as accurate as i could with the resources I have and was looking for advice and knowledge on doing that. Was there a 5 ton GT that was also deep water fordable? Also this truck could serve as a bug-out truck if necessary, but hopefully never needed. Thanks for any info.

L1A1

You may want to purchase the book "Hard ride" by James lyles. He was a guntruck driver(?) in Vietnam. His book seems to be the goto source for those who want to research/build guntrucks. Here's a link to some for sale; http://www.amazon.com/Hard-Ride-Vietnam-Trucks-Vol/dp/9719303719