• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

possible 5 ton build

Mad Machinist

Ya'll are going to think I have totally lost my mind on this one, but here goes.

I have been kicking an idea around for about two years now about building a 5 ton to harvest small diameter timber for biomass. This is mainly due to the price of anyhting to do with forestry equipment. The closet piece of equipment that I can find to do what I want is nearly $700,000.

So here goes. I was thinking about mounting a Kesla harvester boom on the truck with the low mount to keep the center of gravity low. THe bed would be a standard flat bed with removable log bunks in order to facilitate the use of another part of this project.

I have found a set of 26.5" rims with the 10 on 11.25" bolt pattern to fit high flotation forestry tires. Find some kind of locking differentials for the rears and it should be good to go.

THe other part of this project would be a chipping unit with a dump box and a chipper mounted on a skid to be able to pull it up to the bed when needed.

Hopefully this way, the unit could be driven from site to site and go to work with just a tire change eliminating the need for equipment to move everyhting around.

Ok, I got my asbestos underwear on so, flame on.

Scout

I've had a similar idea, but not wanting to mess up my relatively clean M813, I was going to look for a basket case 5 ton with a long wheelbase and make a trailer. I would mount a loader on the front of the trailer so I can load the truck and trailer. If you're talking harvester as in buncher/feller, stability and manuverability would be an issue. Maybe mount the harvester on a Drott Cruz-Air?

Mad Machinist

Floridianson,

Your real close to what I have in mind. :beer:

Scout,