• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

using ATF as a fuel?

Pumbi

I am a super newbie to SS and this is my first post (so bare with me). I just got my first MV, a 1969 M35a2 multifuel from GL.Its the coolest thing ever invented!! My question is what to feed it. I have close family that owns a transmission shop and I have access to hundreds of gallons of used ATF on a continuous basis. Is ATF a suitable fuel alternative? should i mix it with something, could I run straight ATF, will running ATF ruin or hurt my engine. What is the meaning of life? Thanks.

devilman96

You can run ATF in any diesel by having the injectors recalibrated, I've seen gen sets that are using ATF exclusively on this type of set up... With a deuce messing with the injectors is not needed due to the IP's compensator however I personally would not run straight ATF as it could/can/will cause problems with coaking of the injectors. I would however run it mixed with on or off road diesel with no hesitation.

Most guys are doing this with used motor oil but ATF should burn cleaner as it is a lighter oil... It needs to be well filtered which is a subject debate in itself on the site. I personally used a modified spin on filter set up and 12V low volume pump with a nominal 8 micron filter to do this. Its not a fast deal but will do 55 gallons in about an hour or so.

As for mix rate... I would start off with something like 60% diesel to 40% ATF and go from there... Just keep in mind as your playing with it that you really need the diesel additives to keep the injectors clean.

I am sure someone else can offer up some more information... please keep us updated on your progress, ideas, etc... and oh yeah... Welcome to SS!

ken

Steel Soldiers Supporter