• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Machining coolants

Custer

Hello ss members,
First, I'd like to thank everyone here for the wealth of information so far! This is a great site that I've quickly become addicted to and visit daily!
Well, I did a search here and even google too and couldn't find anything directly related.
A little background...
I'm somewhat new to the hobby, and
I currently have a 5 ton with the multi-fuel engine. Im new to biofuels as well but am wanting to run a wmo/mix in it. I have a decent reserve of wmo already and have access to a limited amount more. It's hit or miss when acquiring a decent amount of used oil at any given time. I am starting to look into a filter setup as well. I have barrels and plastic totes to store and transfer the oils into. I'd prefer to just use natural ways like gravity, sun light, time and simple bag filters. However, I think it might be better to use a pump and filter system to better filter the oils....?
Anyway, I learned that I do potentially have access to a steady amount of machining coolants. There is both oil base, and water base. Im hoping they will segregate them, but am not sure yet. We machine titanium mostly, and the coolants are pulled out of the chips via a centrifuge. But it's not micro filtered. Just dumped into a holding tank and the chips sent to a recycler. They will put the coolant in barrels for me just to save the cost of having it removed.
So my questions are, would anyone consider using filtered machining coolants in their trucks? I would think there is probably more metal suspended in the coolants versus waste motor oil, but I just don't know.
Would a centrifuge work?
Or is this just a bad idea?