• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1010 spare tire location

bo911miller

Has anyone ever fabbed a spare tire mount for the rear doors on a m1010? Would the stock door hinges support the weight of a 37 inch tire and wheel?

I am hesitant to mount a spare on the roof . I do not want to make it any more top heavy than it is

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
While I'm not an engineer, the doors hinges don't seem sturdy enough, especially for a 37" tire. Perhaps a mount that bolts on to the lift shackel.

MilChevyguy

Does an M1010 actually come with a spare??......now that I think of it, I don't have a spare ! !

(Oh well, I guess I need to be driving it to worry about that)

If anyone has pics of their set up..post away and let us learn

stevoMT

Good day gentleman. I've been contemplating a few ideas to get a full size spare somewhere on my truck, since a 37 will not really fit in the old spot. I've come to realize I'm am probably stuck it hanging off the back somewhere. Somewhere along the line my truck had some 3" square tubing welded on the back underneath the rear bumper. It serves its purpose pretty well by extending out further than any point in the rear, protecting the back somewhat, and it keeps you from tearing off your license plate off road! So I figured I could incorporate it.
DSCN2548.jpgIMAG0203.jpg