• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Steering column change

Gunzy

I'm new and was wondering if anyone had converted the steering colmn/wheel assy in an M939 series truck to a GM tilt column with use of all the switches? I like the idea of a key start system and canceling t/s switch. I'm a mechanic and don't see a problem with the 24 volts as these are just switches and have no electronics thay would be voltage sensitive. Thanks for any input.

Gunzy

I take it that no replies means no one has done this. Does anyone have an opinion on this?

Suprman

Supporting Vendor
I have a keyed ignition in both of my 5 tons and they both have self canceling blinkers. I did not change the column I wouldn't know where to start with that one I would like a little thicker steering wheel.

phat6

I have a keyed ignition in both of my 5 tons and they both have self canceling blinkers. I did not change the column I wouldn't know where to start with that one I would like a little thicker steering wheel.
Been searching for an answer on the site, but have not found one. What make/model keyed ignition did you use for your 5 ton? Was it a drop-in/no-mod swap? Which 5 ton do you have? I am looking for a drop-in keyed ignition swap-out for an M925A2.

Suprman

Supporting Vendor
Any good quality marine type 3 wire ignition should work. You want one that allows power to the run lead while you are cranking or the fuel solenoid will not be engaged. Sealed ones with leads coming off are the best you can crimp or solder packard connectors onto the leads so no cutting truck wires. You will have to make the mounting hole a little larger.
Will

phat6

Thanks.