• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Replacing an air booster with one off of an M35 (conversion)

therrera

Hi all,

I have had a 404.1 TLF (fire truck) for the past 13 years. It has since had a Ford straight six coversion and it was converted to 12 volts. It is a working welding rig and I have been using it regularly for the past seven years as a field rig doing service calls on everything from body panels to repair welding broken transmission cases and everything in between.

My problem is that my air booster is going out on me fast. In fact I have stopped using it because its causing my brakes to lock up and they won't release unless I dance on the brake pedal a number of times. It was bearable at first as that would only happen once or twice a day when I was out. Now it happens at every stop sign. I run without the air assist. While I can do so, I prefer to have it operational as it provides me with braking power I feel comfortable with especially in heavy traffic.

I got my hands on an air booster off of an M35 because I read somewhere (I can't remember where as I did so much browsing / research on the subject) that these can be adapted to the unimog.

Has anyone done this conversion before? I looked into getting metric to SAE adapters for my brake and air lines but no luck. I plan on splicing and welding (or brazing) the two dissimilar lines together so that part will not be difficult. I would like to know if there are any issues I should be aware of before I undertake this project as it will have me down until I complete it, meaning no truck, no money. I will be highly motivated to get it running as quickly as possible.