• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Unimog 404 or Deuce?

99TCSig

Hello All,

I am a newbie to the MV world, but I have been doing a lot of research on the topic. My whole life I have wanted a Unimog 404, but a deuce and a half owner has almost convinced me to buy a deuce. His argument is that the deuce is cheaper, simpler and the parts are more available. It is also easier to find a deuce for sale, and the plethora of technical manuals (and in English) also makes working on them easier and more accessible. On the other hand, the Unimog is more drivable and from what some people say, better offroad. I plan on using both to go offroad and drive around town. I love the Unimog, but the deuce seems to be a better logistical option. I know there is a large constituency backing both MVs, but I am interested to learn from both sides. This would be my first MV, and although I am mechanically inclined (I do my own work on my car), I am by no means an expert and I mostly just continue to learn. I do not have a ton of money, but I have enough to buy a cheaper vehicle and be in the hobby. Thank you for any input and I know this is a tough choice!

-Eager to Own a MV

ixpacman

Steel Soldiers Supporter