• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Unimog SEE FLU-419 Winch question

UNIMOG-GUY

Yes it is for the Mercedes Benz Unimog SEE FLU-419. While I am not an expert this is the only example that I've seen of a winch on the front of a 419 (that looks stock). I don't actually own one but I was trying to get an answer for a friend of mine.

Another Ahab

Sorry. Can't help you there.

Not a Unimog answer-man; I just like them is all. But somebody'll know.

Is that rig of yours parked on a wooden deck? Little unusual. You got a plank driveway?

UNIMOG-GUY

No the Unimog pictured isn't mine or my friends so I don't know what it is parked on. It was a picture I found online and he wants a winch like the one pictured for the front of his SEE FLU-419.

zebedee

conceptualizer at large
Steel Soldiers Supporter
It looks like a factory add on - as in Mercedes not Freightliner.
I remember in the UK, friends who had 404's used to call it a rubbish bin (UK) winch - 'cause it looked the same size as a 'trash can' (US) mounted on the front bumper.
Not a huge capacity - I think the cable is in the order of 9mm...... But I'd stand corrected from the more informed.

UNIMOG-GUY

These people should be able to answer your questions;
http://www.unimogs.co.uk/gallery/gallery4.asp?category=10&start=1

I wish they did... Here is my correspondence with them:

Simon,

I am wondering if you could tell me what manufacturer/model winch is in the picture on the front of the SEE FLU-419? Do you have any for sale? If not do you know where I could source one?

Thank you in advance,

Chris

Chris,

I’m not sure who made the winch – it isn’t a type which we’re familiar with I’m afraid.

We have nothing similar currently available.

Kind Regards
Simon

+44 (0) 15242 62922