• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Increasing PT pressure

Floridianson

Steel Soldiers Supporter
So I made the jump today and put together the pressure gage for the PT's
NAPA had everything I needed plus hyd. fittings and they made me the hose. Used a swivel fitting on the PT end and hooks up in no time. I started playing with the M816 and here is what found. First I drilled out the ball on the throttel shaft and hooked up the gage and took her out. I started in second low and took it to the govener and show maybe 50 lb then when I hit third low and she started to get close to Gov the gage was moving fast. When I hit the Gov then she showed herself. She pushed 165lb. and defueled. I then turned the throttel shaft screw counter clockwise 2 full turns and repeted the test. This time she defueled at 195lb. I had them make me enough line so the gage reaches easy to the passenger side and sits in my lap when I test. I will be doing some more trucks later this week if I can to see what the base is on them and if the same amount of turns produces the same effect on all the 250's. It was a short test with the 816 today so I can not say she did much better as I only got to third low to check pressures. I was talking with a man that has been around the PT's and he said he felt all you need to do is increase the throttel shaft screw and felt that the Idle plunger could be left alone. So to cap I will test some more but one compleat turn counter clockwise on the throttel screw should net just about 15lb rail increase. I would never tell someone to turn up the throttel screw inless you have the gage on the PT to see where you base line is and where you end up after after adjustment.

Attachments

Last edited:

AMGeneral