• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Looking for a welding trailer

03sxviper

Hello everyone, I'm new here and I'm posting from Saskatchewan, Canada.

I have been interested in the trailers such as m101a2,m116a3 etc.

I am still learning the difference between the models and trying to navigate my way around the forum to learn. I haven't seen too many of those trailers here in Canada, the ones that I have seen they are asking a lot for them compared to what i see them selling for in the US.

I would really like to have one to mount my welder and equipment/tools onto. My equipment weighs approximately 2000lbs.

So any advice or tips would be appreciated in finding the right trailer for me. I know I can build a trailer but its more cost efficiently to look for a good used one first.

Thanks.

tobyS

I bought a Ford Ranger rear clip and put on a long tongue to put my Hobart portable in it. I lay a 330 cu ft oxygen next to it and mounted a 20 lb lp at the front tongue. It was too high at first and not stable cornering so I had to change the axle to under-slung. That helped a lot and it's a compact rig. Truck rear clips are cheap and can be painted green (booooo).

My point being, anything you get from military is high up and if you use it with a pickup, may be unstable in corners.

I'm working on using an M105 bed and changing the frame and axle making it about 10" lower. The 8 lug (7-10 k lbs) Dexter axle is the same bolt pattern as hummer wheels/tires and can be under-slung, bringing it's height down and widening it's stance to prevent roll-over. That makes it close to the height and width of a 1101 but with a bit more room, in my case, has electric brakes. 105's are common. And you have a dolly/fame left for another use.

tobyS