• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Looking for original Army multifuel research

JonMolander

I'm an engineering masters student researching WMO for use in Diesel generators. I'd like to dig up old DoD research when the multifuel engine was designed. I welcome any and all comments of experience, but I'm specifically looking for citable sources. I realize some of it may not have been published, but instead may lie in FOUO DoD archives. If that's the case, and you know that's where it is, I can get access to it.

Thanks in advance!

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Some quick pointers: the US Military multifuel engine utilizes the hypercycle combustion process which was invented by M.A.N. of Germany. Continental Motors, the mfg of the engine, used the technology under license.

73m819

Rock = older than dirt , GA. MAFIA , Dirty
Steel Soldiers Supporter
In Memorial
Research the WW2 German engineering, because they were out of refined fuel, the multifuel was a way to use battle field collected resources to keep the war effort going, the next war (WW3) was to be in Europe where refined fuel was going to be in short supply so the war planners looked to multifuel as the answer just as in the previous war, so the USA, England, and Russia (1000hp v12 multifuel), all had there multifuels based on the German design (in reality, these engines were almost clones of the WW2 design)