• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1078/M1079 for overland camper?

Hello all,

I’m new posting here, but I have browsed the forum much in the past. I have also been active on other military vehicle forums for years (G503).

This write-up might be a little long, but I’d love your input on the suitability of the M1078/M1079 for my use.

---Project Background:
I am a nature and wildlife photographer. My wife and I travel quite a bit in the US and sometimes internationally. We go on backcountry photography trips in our Wrangler/Autohome setup. We like our little jeep setup, but it is definitely camping, and it only works for a few days max. We are looking to significantly expand our trip capability with more internal volume. We are planning extended (months) trips in the western US, Alaska, and Canada in the coming years, and I am looking to “build” and new vehicle for that purpose. It would basically be something we would feel comfortable living in. We use our 4x4 to access out of the way locations (often in snow, sand, mud, and flooded roads), but we don’t intentionally seek technical situations. The vehicle would need to be highway capable, but we are in no rush, so cruising along a highway at 55-60 mph is fine with us.

---Project Budget:
I think we have “enough” money set aside for this, so I think we have some good options. I would prefer a used vehicle that I would work on instead of paying more for a new vehicle. Naturally, I’d like to minimize cost, but I do have enough to cover most reasonable options. The less I spend on the vehicle, the more I can spend on the camper.

---Build Capability: