• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

WWII Dodge and late model driveline build questions

VintageIron

Hello and thanks for taking time to read this. My name is Dave, and I'm a newbie to this site. I've had an interest in the WWII Dodges since I was a kid, now that I near retirement, I have a desire to look into the idea of merging a flat fendered Dodge with a modern driveline/chassis. I live in Ohio, and would like to drive down old Rte.66 to the southwest, spending time in the great national parks out there. For any question below, my goal is a vehicle with the reliability and use of a late model vehicle.

Okay, background stated, I have a small amount of knowledge of the 1/2 ton and 3/4 ton Dodges, by numbers a 3/4 ton would be the most likely found, a Carryall would be ideal, and yes I know how scarce and desirable they are, an enclosed cab, some room for the dog, and stuff, so a Carryall, or panel truck..

Do I understand correctly that the 1/2 ton's had a 116 inch wheelbase, and the 3/4 tons a 98 inch wheelbase? ( not including ambulances which had a longer wheelbase )

Has anyone built up one of the above vehicles with a modern driveline/chassis? If so, is it best to use the original frame and replace the driveline/suspension, or, place the WWII Dodge body on a late model chassis?

Any info shared would be greatly appreciated, tips on which shows to attend to see the old Dodges, tips on which drivelines/chassis are least problematic and of course any publications or other websites that would perhaps lead to the type of WWII Dodge mentioned above.

again, thanks for taking time to read this!

Dave

tankdriver

Welcome aboard...