Page 4 of 35 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 14 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 342

Thread: My MEP-803a experience

  1. #31
    4 Star General
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Efland, NC
    Posts
    1,832
    Thanks
    459
    Thanked 1,429 Times in 837 Posts

    Default

    6/3 won't be code legal for a generator feed. You need to run a 4 wire cable.
    Chris Medico
    MEP-003a (sold), MEP-803a, MEP-802a, & MEP-831a

  2. #32
    Colonel
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 171 Times in 107 Posts

    Default

    maybe I have the terminology wrong, it is 3x6awg conductors and 1x8awg ground

    http://www.lowes.com/pd/6-3-Indoor-N...-Foot/50101582
    Last edited by lonesouth; 09-27-2016 at 13:39.

  3. #33
    4 Star General
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Efland, NC
    Posts
    1,832
    Thanks
    459
    Thanked 1,429 Times in 837 Posts

    Default

    You are OK with 6/3 w/ground.

    Be sure to remove the ground/neutral bonding jumper at the generator.
    Chris Medico
    MEP-003a (sold), MEP-803a, MEP-802a, & MEP-831a

  4. #34
    Colonel
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 171 Times in 107 Posts

    Default

    will do.

  5. #35
    4 Star General
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Efland, NC
    Posts
    1,832
    Thanks
    459
    Thanked 1,429 Times in 837 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lonesouth View Post
    maybe I have the terminology wrong, it is 3x6awg conductors and 1x8awg ground

    http://www.lowes.com/pd/6-3-Indoor-N...-Foot/50101582
    FYI - That cable isn't rated to run between the generator and the structure. It is for indoor use only. You need a different kind of cable to run out to the generator.

    Obviously it will function but it would fail an inspection.
    Chris Medico
    MEP-003a (sold), MEP-803a, MEP-802a, & MEP-831a

  6. #36
    Colonel
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 171 Times in 107 Posts

    Default

    inside conduit?

    or do I have to use UF?
    Last edited by lonesouth; 09-27-2016 at 14:18.

  7. #37
    4 Star General
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Efland, NC
    Posts
    1,832
    Thanks
    459
    Thanked 1,429 Times in 837 Posts

    Default

    Nope. You MAY be able to get away with that cable if its in conduit above ground (depending on the temperament of the inspector).

    If you put the conduit below grade it is considered a wet location. You will need to use cable rated for wet locations. Sorry.
    Chris Medico
    MEP-003a (sold), MEP-803a, MEP-802a, & MEP-831a

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to DieselAddict For This Useful Post:

    NormB (09-13-2018)

  9. #38
    Colonel
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 171 Times in 107 Posts

    Default

    Better to do it right the first time. Thanks for the info.

  10. #39
    4 Star General
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Efland, NC
    Posts
    1,832
    Thanks
    459
    Thanked 1,429 Times in 837 Posts

    Default

    Totally agree. Sorry to have to give you that news.
    Chris Medico
    MEP-003a (sold), MEP-803a, MEP-802a, & MEP-831a

  11. #40
    Colonel
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 171 Times in 107 Posts

    Default

    Going to go with individual feeds and ground, instead of the UF. I think it should be easier to install.

    http://www.lowes.com/pd/4-AWG-Strand...-Foot/50101584

    listed as approved for wet locations.
    Last edited by lonesouth; 09-27-2016 at 15:56.

Page 4 of 35 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 14 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •