• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Welding for dummies

maddawg308

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I'm a dummy. I don't weld. Is there anybody within a couple hours of me that might be willing to take a few hours out of their time to show me how to do sheet metal spot welding, and some basic structural welding (i.e. angle iron, bar stock, etc)? Would be willing to travel a couple hours from 22630.

Michael

The Vo Tech colleges around here offer night courses in welding. I took a course a long time ago and learned a lot and had fun. They are aimed at people with a crappy day job who want to move up to a welding job at a factory, but will teach you the basics.

Elwenil

I second the VO Tech approach. I did it and I am a pretty decent welder now. The instructor told me I could easily pass the certification test if I wanted to take it, but I just wanted to weld for my own projects. Might still get certified for the hell of it. I think the course I took cost just over $100. And to be perfectly honest, I probably burnt up about $300 in rods during the class, so it is well worth it just to burn up their steel and rods if nothing else.

I 3rd it........... I took Cad but we did Welding and Machining as well...... I wound up with a "Precision Metals" diploma for 2 yras of it in HS..................

maddawg308

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Okay, I'll look into Vo Tech courses. But just to make the point - the Vo Tech teacher could have some bad habits as well!

Elwenil