• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Hmmwv oil sample analysis

bob smith

A Hmmwv I would be interested in buying has only 20 lbs of oil pressure and very low mileage. i am concerned about the low pressure and what the oil sample on this low mileage engine shows.

On the face of the sample is this a bad deal? I would expect the oil pressure to be around 45 lbs

OIL SAMPLE ANALYSIS

ENGINE
TRANSMISSION

date of analysis
Apr 03, 2017
Apr 03, 2017
Lead
10.99 PPM
6.8 PPM
Chromium
4.05 PPM
0 PPM
Copper
3.98 PPM
22.71 PPM
Silver
0 PPM
0 PPM
Nickel
1.11 PPM
0 PPM
Tin
0 PPM
0 PPM
Aluminum
1.24 PPM
0.86 PPM
Silicon
74.46 PPM
20.52 PPM
Iron
33.99 PPM
24.95 PPM
Glycol
NEG
N/A
Water
NEG
N/A
Fuel
<5%
N/A

I am new to the world of the HMMWV so i really could use some guidance.
Bob

Carrera911

The oil pressure depends on how hot the oil was. On cold starts mine is at 45 and on hot days after a long drive it idles at 10-15. You can search black stone labs oil analysis chart for what normal levels are. I know high silicon is from poor air filtration and allowing dirt into the intake. Different metals are found in piston rings, bearings etc. The fuel in the oil is likely from a failed seal in the mechanical pump. I honestly don't know if they really test the oil. I've seen the oil topped off and the drain bolt didn't look like it was touched in years.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OPFORMI