• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M880 318: To sell or not to sell....

McGuyver

Hi guys,

I have a decision I've been mulling over for a few months that I'd like all of your input on. I recently completed an engine and transmission swap on my M880- I replaced the Stock 318 and 727 auto tranny with a 440 BB with a 727 with BB bell housing. To anyone who's ever driven a stock M880, my reasons for doing this should be obvious: let's face it, the EPA regulations of the late 70's produced a SB 318 with much to be desired as far as horsepower is concerned. In fact the HP numbers for that year were the lowest of any year I looked up for the 318- a measly 150 or so. So now that I've "upgraded" I've got a decision to make: should I keep the motor and tranny on the remote possibility that someday I may want to keep it for collector value in order to do an "original" restoration on the truck, or sell the motor to my brother in law who needs to replace the blown 318 in his `86 Dodge W100? As much as I love my M880, (and I say this sincerely) I'm still realistic enough to realize that there probably isn't much collector value in the M880, which seems to be a disdained ugly step child as far as the rest of the military vehicle collector community is concerned. Be that as it may I'm not bothered by it, I still love my M880 regardless. So what do you think guys? What would you do?

nattieleather