• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Problems running WVO on the multifuel engine

Beyond Biodiesel

I have been running WVO on a multifuel engine for 3 or 4 years now. Last year I went through 2 fuel pumps before I realized that the NOS fuel pump for the multifuel engine is made out of pot metal, which has a high percentage of zinc in it. It turns out zinc is highly active at precipitating dissolved solds, such as fat, which I have been using for about 2 years, but it causes the fat to precipitate out on the pump head, which constrains the impeller, which causes the fuel pump to fail prematurely.

So, I plan to replace the fuel pump with one that does not have pot metal in it. Does anyone have a recommendation for a fuel pump that would work for a multifuel engine?

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
I've never liked those "chunka" pumps.

Have you looked at the Parker pumps that replace the stock Olympic pumps?

MUCH better IMHO and they are re-buildable too.

dmetalmiki

HOLD ON!, Buy the aircraft fuel pumps which fit directly into the original pump holder, wires, plug, pipes, everything. I have 3 on the shelf as standby. I will obtain the maker tomorrow. (It's 12-30 A.M. now). They all came from over there in the U.S. of A. £55. Each. Super build and top quality. They do rather look like the ones posted prior.

Last edited:

frank8003

In Memorial
In Memorial
"The Parker fuel pump looks like a major contender. Does anyone know for sure whether the Parker pump head is made of pot metal, or aluminum, or another metal?"

Oh golly.
They were so cheap and you didn't buy a couple of them!
When you see them for sale, then buy them.
One will NOT see a better deal.

Read your SS messages .............................